Skip to content
Suffolk Counts — Suffolk, in numbers.Local help →

East Suffolk, in numbers

People and living standards: East Suffolk

East Suffolk local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Suffolk local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 221,254 in 1991 to 250,106 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 222,573 people in 1996; 250,106 people in 2025. 12.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991221,254
1992217,712
1993215,818
1994217,974
1995220,416
1996222,573
1997224,571
1998224,501
1999225,138
2000227,067
2001227,736
2002228,974
2003230,868
2004233,329
2005235,651
2006237,032
2007239,249
2008240,139
2009239,877
2010239,932
2011239,946
2012239,607
2013239,921
2014239,929
2015240,479
2016241,807
2017243,496
2018244,313
2019245,052
2020245,482
2021246,776
2022247,177
2023248,519
2024249,581
2025250,106
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,897 people in 1996; 37,737 people in 2025. 14% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,840
199243,136
199342,695
199443,189
199543,707
199643,897
199744,177
199844,202
199944,326
200044,562
200144,020
200243,833
200343,651
200443,569
200543,371
200643,037
200742,951
200842,717
200942,226
201041,907
201141,732
201241,262
201340,709
201440,454
201540,283
201640,299
201740,478
201840,463
201940,049
202039,707
202139,203
202239,071
202338,842
202438,397
202537,737
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 133,120 people in 1996; 138,406 people in 2025. 4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991133,714
1992130,473
1993128,591
1994129,991
1995131,460
1996133,120
1997134,587
1998134,233
1999133,955
2000134,978
2001135,390
2002136,225
2003137,524
2004139,314
2005141,172
2006142,612
2007143,970
2008144,176
2009143,227
2010142,417
2011141,491
2012139,205
2013138,442
2014137,244
2015137,028
2016137,303
2017137,734
2018137,582
2019137,687
2020137,923
2021138,782
2022138,078
2023138,536
2024138,601
2025138,406
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 45,556 people in 1996; 73,963 people in 2025. 62.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,700
199244,103
199344,532
199444,794
199545,249
199645,556
199745,807
199846,066
199946,857
200047,527
200148,326
200248,916
200349,693
200450,446
200551,108
200651,383
200752,328
200853,246
200954,424
201055,608
201156,723
201259,140
201360,770
201462,231
201563,168
201664,205
201765,284
201866,268
201967,316
202067,852
202168,791
202270,028
202371,141
202472,583
202573,963
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 246,060 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · East Suffolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,4471.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,3570.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,7071.5%
White236,62796.2%
Other ethnic group9220.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Suffolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,779 per person in 1997; £25,540 per person in 2024. 161.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,779
19989,941
199910,214
200010,982
200111,471
200211,747
200312,175
200412,728
200513,208
200613,597
200714,063
200815,013
200915,596
201015,743
201115,887
201216,588
201317,135
201417,693
201518,834
201618,889
201719,215
201819,933
201920,145
202020,086
202121,069
202222,400
202323,977
202425,540
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Suffolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.8% in 1997; -1.6% in 2024. 6.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.8
1998-8.2
1999-9.7
2000-7.7
2001-7.3
2002-7.2
2003-6.6
2004-6.2
2005-6
2006-7.2
2007-8.4
2008-4.7
2009-2.6
2010-2.5
2011-2.5
2012-1.8
2013-2.2
2014-2.2
2015-1
2016-1.9
2017-2.5
2018-2.3
2019-4.4
2020-4.3
2021-3.5
2022-2.5
2023-1.9
2024-1.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

51.5%

21 March 2021 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.6%

21 March 2021 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.4%

21 March 2021 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£276,000

July 2026 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£842

August 2026 · East Suffolk local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2001 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.