Skip to content
Suffolk Counts — Suffolk, in numbers.Local help →

Babergh, in numbers

People and living standards: Babergh

Babergh local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Babergh local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 80,200 in 1991 to 97,833 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Babergh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,197 people in 1996; 97,833 people in 2025. 22% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,200
199279,955
199379,936
199479,470
199579,844
199680,197
199780,510
199881,296
199982,058
200082,923
200183,538
200284,112
200385,066
200485,622
200585,957
200686,698
200786,916
200887,260
200987,411
201087,467
201187,901
201288,144
201388,420
201488,999
201589,391
201689,584
201789,918
201890,456
201990,917
202091,491
202192,724
202294,279
202395,803
202496,906
202597,833
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Babergh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,547 people in 1996; 15,479 people in 2025. 0.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,198
199215,906
199315,672
199415,601
199515,602
199615,547
199715,597
199815,700
199916,118
200016,295
200116,225
200216,381
200316,512
200416,569
200516,460
200616,374
200716,244
200816,178
200916,183
201015,880
201115,925
201215,744
201315,542
201415,480
201515,392
201615,261
201715,075
201815,077
201915,114
202014,938
202114,896
202215,195
202315,362
202415,404
202515,479
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Babergh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,294 people in 1996; 55,486 people in 2025. 10.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199150,421
199250,341
199350,392
199449,835
199550,044
199650,294
199750,438
199851,005
199951,178
200051,523
200151,929
200252,112
200352,691
200452,937
200553,177
200653,785
200753,813
200853,771
200953,364
201053,235
201152,972
201252,387
201351,947
201451,817
201551,662
201651,591
201751,721
201851,808
201951,783
202052,277
202153,106
202253,627
202354,559
202455,133
202555,486
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Babergh council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,356 people in 1996; 26,868 people in 2025. 87.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,581
199213,708
199313,872
199414,034
199514,198
199614,356
199714,475
199814,591
199914,762
200015,105
200115,384
200215,619
200315,863
200416,116
200516,320
200616,539
200716,859
200817,311
200917,864
201018,352
201119,004
201220,013
201320,931
201421,702
201522,337
201622,732
201723,122
201823,571
201924,020
202024,276
202124,722
202225,457
202325,882
202426,369
202526,868
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 92,342 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Babergh · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8750.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5030.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,3511.5%
White89,26996.7%
Other ethnic group3440.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 87,740 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Babergh · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White85,84597.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8270.9%
Asian/Asian British6660.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2640.3%
Other ethnic group1380.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 83,461 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Babergh · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White82,38998.7%
Mixed4820.6%
Asian/Asian British2120.3%
Black/Black British1590.2%
Chinese/Other2190.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Babergh council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,957 per person in 1997; £27,849 per person in 2024. 154.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,957
199810,925
199911,273
200012,116
200112,578
200212,943
200313,152
200413,720
200514,285
200614,694
200715,267
200816,139
200916,723
201017,013
201117,003
201217,821
201318,395
201418,950
201520,067
201620,250
201720,744
201821,538
201921,970
202021,699
202123,354
202224,393
202326,102
202427,849
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Babergh council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 3.3% in 1997; 7.3% in 2024. 4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Babergh council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19973.3
19980.9
1999-0.3
20001.8
20011.7
20022.3
20030.9
20041.1
20051.6
20060.3
2007-0.5
20082.5
20094.4
20105.3
20114.4
20125.5
20135
20144.8
20155.5
20165.2
20175.3
20185.5
20194.3
20203.4
20216.9
20226.2
20236.8
20247.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.5%

21 March 2021 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.1%

21 March 2021 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£331,000

July 2026 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£965

August 2026 · Babergh local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.