Skip to content
Suffolk Counts — Suffolk, in numbers.Local help →

Ipswich, in numbers

People and living standards: Ipswich

Ipswich local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ipswich local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 118,380 in 1991 to 139,457 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ipswich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 114,810 people in 1996; 139,457 people in 2025. 21.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991118,380
1992115,935
1993115,087
1994114,627
1995114,959
1996114,810
1997114,474
1998115,818
1999116,276
2000116,565
2001117,156
2002117,818
2003119,210
2004121,175
2005124,028
2006124,753
2007125,471
2008127,387
2009129,320
2010131,729
2011133,729
2012135,694
2013136,760
2014138,108
2015139,694
2016141,245
2017141,922
2018141,643
2019140,809
2020139,889
2021139,638
2022139,581
2023139,698
2024140,042
2025139,457
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ipswich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,644 people in 1996; 27,625 people in 2025. 12.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,979
199224,535
199324,526
199424,648
199524,730
199624,644
199724,510
199824,636
199924,801
200024,630
200124,576
200224,527
200324,566
200424,605
200524,586
200624,518
200724,358
200824,613
200925,043
201025,590
201126,054
201226,611
201326,793
201427,211
201527,694
201628,068
201728,422
201828,601
201928,451
202028,122
202127,733
202227,728
202327,801
202427,957
202527,625
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ipswich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 70,243 people in 1996; 87,575 people in 2025. 24.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199173,397
199271,436
199370,574
199469,933
199570,230
199670,243
199770,147
199871,387
199971,749
200072,191
200172,946
200273,696
200375,061
200477,042
200579,961
200680,793
200781,723
200883,332
200984,805
201086,417
201187,715
201288,513
201388,953
201489,436
201590,258
201691,054
201791,203
201890,603
201989,577
202088,865
202188,711
202288,364
202388,130
202488,040
202587,575
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ipswich council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,923 people in 1996; 24,257 people in 2025. 21.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,004
199219,964
199319,987
199420,046
199519,999
199619,923
199719,817
199819,795
199919,726
200019,744
200119,634
200219,595
200319,583
200419,528
200519,481
200619,442
200719,390
200819,442
200919,472
201019,722
201119,960
201220,570
201321,014
201421,461
201521,742
201622,123
201722,297
201822,439
201922,781
202022,902
202123,194
202223,489
202323,767
202424,045
202524,257
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 139,643 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ipswich · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7,6115.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,8823.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,4094.6%
White117,75784.3%
Other ethnic group2,9842.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 133,384 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ipswich · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White118,59688.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,8163.6%
Asian/Asian British5,7404.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,0962.3%
Other ethnic group1,1360.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 117,069 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ipswich · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White109,38193.4%
Mixed2,6582.3%
Asian/Asian British2,1131.8%
Black/Black British2,1591.8%
Chinese/Other7580.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 16% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ipswich council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,760 per person in 1997; £21,816 per person in 2024. 123.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,760
19989,764
199910,220
200010,962
200111,540
200211,893
200312,147
200412,478
200512,653
200613,005
200713,419
200814,026
200914,462
201014,545
201114,507
201214,817
201315,112
201415,437
201515,918
201616,174
201716,527
201816,765
201917,375
202017,815
202118,603
202219,322
202320,616
202421,816
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ipswich council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8% in 1997; -16% in 2024. 8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ipswich council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8
1998-9.8
1999-9.6
2000-7.9
2001-6.7
2002-6
2003-6.8
2004-8.1
2005-10
2006-11.2
2007-12.6
2008-10.9
2009-9.7
2010-9.9
2011-11
2012-12.3
2013-13.7
2014-14.6
2015-16.3
2016-16
2017-16.1
2018-17.9
2019-17.5
2020-15.1
2021-14.8
2022-15.9
2023-15.7
2024-16
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.9%

21 March 2021 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.2%

21 March 2021 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.7%

21 March 2021 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£221,000

July 2026 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£995

August 2026 · Ipswich local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.