Skip to content
Suffolk Counts — Suffolk, in numbers.Local help →

Suffolk, in numbers

People and living standards

Suffolk County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Suffolk County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 649,066 in 1991 to 789,850 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 655,739 people in 1996; 789,850 people in 2025. 20.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991649,066
1992643,483
1993641,625
1994644,811
1995651,600
1996655,739
1997660,060
1998664,034
1999667,342
2000672,506
2001669,913
2002674,579
2003681,408
2004689,087
2005697,837
2006702,961
2007709,144
2008714,348
2009718,183
2010723,976
2011730,133
2012732,697
2013734,875
2014740,175
2015744,501
2016747,783
2017753,590
2018755,345
2019757,321
2020756,668
2021763,349
2022769,034
2023778,217
2024785,501
2025789,850
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 133,141 people in 1996; 132,313 people in 2025. 0.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991132,704
1992131,310
1993130,839
1994131,907
1995133,149
1996133,141
1997133,652
1998134,062
1999135,343
2000135,252
2001132,535
2002132,953
2003132,625
2004133,057
2005132,691
2006132,294
2007132,068
2008132,082
2009132,162
2010132,465
2011132,987
2012132,480
2013131,348
2014132,126
2015132,686
2016132,626
2017133,686
2018133,405
2019133,114
2020131,025
2021130,165
2022131,238
2023132,875
2024133,335
2025132,313
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 405,385 people in 1996; 462,830 people in 2025. 14.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991403,720
1992398,650
1993396,245
1994397,528
1995402,011
1996405,385
1997408,508
1998411,229
1999412,165
2000415,912
2001414,474
2002417,241
2003422,633
2004428,129
2005435,586
2006439,908
2007443,847
2008446,277
2009446,766
2010448,786
2011450,808
2012447,367
2013445,842
2014445,873
2015446,426
2016446,714
2017448,812
2018448,398
2019447,788
2020447,770
2021452,703
2022453,846
2023457,998
2024461,036
2025462,830
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Suffolk council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 117,213 people in 1996; 194,707 people in 2025. 66.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,642
1992113,523
1993114,541
1994115,376
1995116,440
1996117,213
1997117,900
1998118,743
1999119,834
2000121,342
2001122,904
2002124,385
2003126,150
2004127,901
2005129,560
2006130,759
2007133,229
2008135,989
2009139,255
2010142,725
2011146,338
2012152,850
2013157,685
2014162,176
2015165,389
2016168,443
2017171,092
2018173,542
2019176,419
2020177,873
2021180,481
2022183,950
2023187,344
2024191,130
2025194,707
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 760,687 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Suffolk · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh17,4832.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African10,1681.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups17,8072.3%
White708,27193.1%
Other ethnic group6,9580.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 728,163 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Suffolk · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White693,19595.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups12,4721.7%
Asian/Asian British13,1311.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6,8540.9%
Other ethnic group2,5110.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 668,553 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Suffolk · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White650,10597.2%
Mixed7,0561.1%
Asian/Asian British3,9160.6%
Black/Black British4,3160.6%
Chinese/Other3,1600.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Suffolk council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,015.76 per person in 1997; £24,800.6 per person in 2024. 147.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,015.76
199810,091.35
199910,427.94
200011,237.07
200111,835.87
200212,155.73
200312,460.96
200412,979.49
200513,389.95
200613,758.94
200714,229.83
200815,064.09
200915,539.21
201015,634.5
201115,623.18
201216,250.92
201316,756.59
201417,218.9
201518,189.36
201618,371.64
201718,705.13
201819,389.82
201919,875.32
202019,818.47
202120,807
202221,939.04
202323,374.96
202424,800.6
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Suffolk council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.6% in 1997; -4.48% in 2024. 1.12 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Suffolk council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.6
1998-6.79
1999-7.82
2000-5.59
2001-4.33
2002-3.92
2003-4.4
2004-4.37
2005-4.75
2006-6.04
2007-7.27
2008-4.35
2009-2.95
2010-3.2
2011-4.12
2012-3.78
2013-4.33
2014-4.78
2015-4.39
2016-4.6
2017-5.05
2018-5
2019-5.67
2020-5.58
2021-4.75
2022-4.46
2023-4.4
2024-4.48
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.5%

21 March 2021 · Suffolk County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.5%

21 March 2021 · Suffolk County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Suffolk County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · Suffolk County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£281,000

July 2026 · Suffolk County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.